Living on an Island?

A friend of mine just got accepted for a three-month-probational period in Cork, Ireland. She’ll be working in a helpdesk call-center, starting as early as next week.

I am thrilled for her and it looks like a good prospect, if she manages to make it into a permanent position. Also, I am more than curious to see, how things will go for her and what she will have to say in terms of quality and cost of living etc. in Ireland. As a matter of fact, we loosely talked about spending Christmas together, as she might have to take shifts over the holidays and won’t be able to celebrate with her son and family. Her son will stay with his grand-parents for the time being, which sounds like a tough call for her.

Bottomline: Her new start resparked my interest in going away and I’m assessing my immediate needs and requirements again. Migrating is definitely not over, but I might be coming from a new and different perspective on things than I used to about a year ago, when I planned for Canada.

3 Responses to Living on an Island?

  1. Cliff says:

    I’d be interested in hearing what her experience is like there. I wish her the best of luck, and I hope that having her loved ones so far away for a few months doesn’t put too much strain on her personally or professionally. In the grand scheme of things, three months isn’t all that long.

  2. renovatio06 says:

    I’ll be posting any progress here as it comes about, presuming her permission. I though you might be interested in this given our chat on the weekend 😉

  3. Cliff says:

    Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

