Crossing the Border

Vancouver IV … to where? Here I am – in Canada! Land of my dreams? I moved out of the city 10 years ago and now it appears, as if I were moving back in. Does it make any sense? Probably not. So what it is? It’s fairly obvious: Trying to run away – from myself. But you can’t. All the wise guys around me know that. I know it, too. But being a capricorne and having my picture on the dictionary entry “stubborn”, here I am doing all I can and burning considerable amounts of money over the attempt to do it nonetheless. Because I believe I can. Run away from the past. Leave it behind me and start all over again. Well, probably not all over, but equipped with a fresh angle of looking at things, a new attitude, more health, resolve and determination. So, was I missing anything in making a change?

Just the other day, I took the Underground Tour in Seattle. You wouldn’t believe all the catastrophic mistakes the founding fathers of this city made in building it. Like, for example, boardwalks that were on a different level than the street. To cross the street, people had to climb ladders, cross the street, and climb down on the other side. Picture this! Ladies in corsettes and with unloading dresses, men in their sunday attire and children barely able to walk. How stupid can it get? To put the icing on the cake, they made up for this by putting a solid brick cover over those boardwalks, literally burying anything below, blocking it from the sunlight, ventilation, access… – I beg your pardon?!!

Despite all these crass miscalculations, Seattle evolved from a proverbial mudhole, filled with sawdust and suffering twice a day from the tide literally washing people’s homes away to one of the major cities of modern times. If that isn’t proof enough that anything is possible, you’d probably have to reach for the Bible and read about the miracles Jesus performed during his lifetime. So – YES! You CAN change anything and you CAN reinvent yourself. I know, *I* CAN! I’ve got it in me, enough resolve, enough determination, with a reestablished health also enough perseverance to make anything happen. And I will. I set out to accomplish this, and I won’t let go until it is accomplished.

So – crossing the border to where? To a new life, a new me, a new beginning. Hopefully here, in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. Halleluja!

5 Responses to Crossing the Border

  1. Wolfram says:

    It´s true, as the Adidas advertising tells us:” Impossibe is nothing!”. Even a new beginning, a new life, a new start at any time, but running away from oneself? Well, you won´t know untill you´ll try.

  2. Anonymous says:

    If you truly WISH and CHOOSE it and if only you believe that you CAN. And more – not just to make a change but also to accept that change, fully immerse yourself in this, fully devote yourself to this change. Courage! Only I do worry if you about any change for to run away from yourself.

  3. Jura says:

    If you truly WISH and CHOOSE it and if only you believe that you CAN. And more – not just to make a change but also to accept that change, fully immerse yourself in this, fully devote yourself to this change. Courage! Only I do worry if you about any change for to run away from yourself.

  4. admin says:

    Thanks, guys! Well, the “running away” part was maybe putting things a little bit dramatic (which I tend to be, at times, I’m afraid). It’s more about leaving unnecessary baggage of any kind behind (ha, rhymes!) and really using my energy to focus on the good things rather than on the minor side effects of life and living. Does that make any sense to you?

  5. Jura says:

    Definitly makes! It would be just a loss of energy if to focus on moaning. Seems sometimes you just love “rich” emotions 🙂 I do it, too, sometimes 🙂

Leave a Reply

